Mr VicBears

We hold our Mr VicBears competition each year in January and February as part of our VicBears BearFEST. During our annual competition we crown our Mr VicBears for the coming year who will represent us at the Mr Australasia Bear Contest during Southern HiBearnation. This is an important time of year for us as it forms part of the LGBTI community wide Midsumma Festival!

The next Mr VicBears Contest will be held at the Laird January 2023.

Contest Guidelines (PDF)
2023 Entry Form

Mr VicBears Title Holders

Jonny Paulet (2023)

Damien Hickey (2022) 

Damien is now a main stay in the bear community, having won Mr VicBear and Mr Australian Bear, Damien has also decided to Join the committee and is now the current sitting Vice President.

Josh Gosse (2020/2021)

After winning the Mr VicBears title in January 2020. Unfortunately due to Covid-19, Josh hasn’t been able to compete, however will be representing Victoria at Mr Australasia Bear at Southern HiBearnation 2021

Matt Gardener (2019)

After winning the Mr VicBears title in January 2019, Matt went on to represent the club beautifully at a huge variety of events around Australia. Not only bear events from our associate bear clubs in Brisbane and Sydney but also at rural Victorian events such as Geelong Pride march were he proudly helped carry the club banner.

Matt has also gone above and beyond, representing the bear name at events such as Vice at the Laird where he was put on demonstration on stage and “roped up” by fellow sashbearded Michael Deppeler (Mr Australian Pup And Handler 2019).

Previous Mr VicBears title holders include:

  • 2018 – Freddy Raftellis
  • 2017 – Michael Rigby
  • 2016 – Patrick Greber
  • 2015 – David Cooke
  • 2014 – Erin O’Neil